Trust in Providence

Jesus, I trust in you. That is my mantra. Over the past few years, so many of my prayers were not answered the way in which I hoped, the way I thought was best. People, including me, suffered, became seriously ill, were disappointed, and got hurt. Dreams were lost. Relationships changed. Friends passed away.

Still, my mantra remains the same. Jesus, I trust in you. I don’t understand God’s ways, but I trust God knows better than I do. I submit myself to the will of God. Thy will be done.

Saint Theodora fully trusted. She often said, “Put yourself gently in the hands of Providence,” and, “Trust in Providence.” When Saint Theodora’s bishop treated her harshly, fires destroyed the winter’s grain and animal feed, and at least one sister caused inner turmoil in the community, she believed God was present during all of it. She continued God’s work. She persevered. She trusted in the Lord.

When we submit to God’s will, this does not mean we do nothing. We follow God’s lead and God’s work. We leave behind resentment, jealousy, anger, frustration, and sadness. We don’t insist upon our ways. We trust God has our back, is with us, on our side, and all will be well, if not in this life then the next.

Most likely the future will not be exactly how we envision. But even when there is pain, there also is joy. Look around and relish in the beauty, love, kindness, and goodness that surrounds us. We are rich in blessings. God is good, all the time.

This entry was posted in Catholic, Christian, Saint Mother Theodore Guerin, Saint Theodora, trust and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trust in Providence

  1. Kathy Michals says:

    Oh Mary, what beautiful inspirational words! How very true. How very soothing. Thank you so much for sharing your God given gift of writing with us. Thank you my Friend. XO

Leave a Reply

